Guardians of the Compass

The four cardinal directions or compass points : North . South , East and West , are each given their own character and specific values referred to in a handfasting ceremony

Some people like to appoint one of their guests to represent each of those directions , to step forward when called on by the celebrant

Sometimes the people apppointed as Guardians of the Compass are also asked to represent an Icon of the Elements in which case the two kind of Icons are joined like this :

North - Earth

South - Air

East - Fire

West - Sea

See also : Icons of the Elements